My gardens on canvas

June 13, 2010

One year ago, on my 50th birthday, my children gave me one of the most special gifts I have ever received.  The kids commissioned a local, talented artist, Lynda Peterson, to paint a picture of my gardens as a birthday gift.

Lynda wanted to know when my favorite time in the gardens was, and I mentioned that I love to stroll through the gardens at dusk, after all my work is done for the day.  She came one evening to take photos of the gardens before dusk, to help her capture the light and mood that she wanted to portray on the canvas.

So here I am, strolling through the gardens with a cup of coffee, taking time to enjoy the flowers one last time before the dark chases me inside.  I believe she captured the mood and the light just perfect; she truly created a masterpiece.

5 Responses to “My gardens on canvas”

  1. Mindi Says:

    Your daughters are amazing. But I always knew that. What do you expect, with the mom that raised them?

  2. Andrea Says:

    I love the picture! Lynda sure has a gift. She captured that magical time just as I picture it in my daydreams – some day – to have a flower garden.

  3. debsgarden Says:

    What a special gift! Your children have given you a present that will become a cherished family heirloom, I am sure. One of my favorite things to do is to walk in my garden late in the day, usually with a cup of coffee in hand! The light is truly magical at that time. Your painting truly portrays that golden light, shining over your beautiful garden.

  4. Lynda Says:

    Absolutely Beautiful! What a wonderful gift to enjoy all year, especially on those dreary cold winter days.

  5. Ginny Says:

    What a priceless gift! It’s beautiful.


Leave a Reply

