Cinnamon Applesauce ornaments

January 3, 2011

Recently my granddaughter Elise was looking for a ‘Christmas Store’ project for her class room; each student makes things to sell (items must be hand made), then the classroom is set up like a store, and the public is invited to come shop one day.  The class then takes a field trip to a local grocery store and uses all the money earned to purchase food for the local food shelf.  Warms your heart doesn’t it?

Shortly after Elise asked me if I had any ideas for her project, I came upon this recipe and remembered making these about 20 years ago with her mother and sisters.   I thought about all the fun scrap booking embellishments that could be used to decorate the ornaments (not available 20 years ago); the possibilities, options, and fun were endless!  Elise approved the idea and we were in business!

Cinnamon Applesauce Ornament Recipe

1 cup cinnamon
1 T. ground cloves
1 T. nutmeg
¾ cup applesauce
2 T. Tacky craft glue

Combine cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg; mix in applesauce and glue.  Knead well; dough should be smooth and stick together – if too crumbly add more applesauce, if too sticky add more cinnamon.  Roll dough on tin foil to 1/4 inch thickness; cut with cookie cutters.  Use a straw or toothpick to make a hole for hanging.  Let air dry for 4 to 5 days or more, turning twice daily.  Makes about 2-3 dozen, depending on size of cookie cutters.  Decorate!  (Ornaments shrink somewhat as they dry.)

Dry and ready to decorate

11 Responses to “Cinnamon Applesauce ornaments”

  1. Marisa Says:

    The kids and I used this recipe for some ornaments this week. The smell is absolutely amazing! I’m posting ours on my blog right now, and linking back to this post. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Dianne Says:

    My daughter will love these! Ten years old, she is a rising star in baking, from family functions to school bake sales — wait til she sees them! Thank for sharing!


  3. I can smell the cinnamon right now. I’m not a baker so all I can do is fantasize.

  4. Julie Says:

    Those are adorable and smell so good! Thank you for letting me pick one to take home. 🙂

  5. Mindi Says:

    Oh, those are adorable! I’ll have to print the recipe and do them next year with my kiddos. They’d love that. They love to decorate anything.


  6. These look delicious.. I will try them soon!!

    • 33barefootlane Says:

      They might look delicious, but I wouldn’t advise eating them ….. you might break a tooth or two. 😉
      Cheryl

  7. teresa Says:

    They are so cute and I bet they smell good on the tree, too.

  8. Ginny Says:

    Years ago I made little teddy bears from a similar recipe, though I don’t recall that my recipe had glue in it. I love these – a great idea for a project with my grandchildren next year.


Leave a comment