The do-it-yourselfers dilemma

July 7, 2010

‘Do it yourself’ could be my (doggone) middle name.  I’ve decided that there must be a missing connection in my brain somewhere; it’s the connector that fails to deliver a warning when I discover a new craft or trade which I admire and then begin to tell myself – “Oh, I bet I could learn to do that!”  Right then there should be flashing lights and bells clanging, but the malfunctioning connection has fooled me again.  Sometimes it is so fun to be fooled.

Right now though, I’m quite questioning my sanity and my middle name.  You see, we have a family wedding in just a few weeks, our son is getting married to his sweetie pie.  And so –  I’ve been told that the only responsibility of the mother of the groom is to wear beige and shut up – but somehow it’s not quite happening that way.  And it’s my own fault (mostly).

Well, being a flower grower, of course I would offer to help with the flowers – and that will be very special to have the church decorated with all our homegrown flowers.  Not every bride wants garden flowers, so I am thrilled that they are thrilled to have garden flowers for the wedding!

Then let’s see – oh, the wedding cakes.  Now, for some odd reason I decided to make my own wedding cake when I was 17 (with no warning lights or bells way back then, either), and have practiced the art off and on over the years.  So I just couldn’t stand the thought of the brides family paying mooka money for wedding cakes when I could make them for just the cost of the ingredients!  Well, I just had to offer, and they so kindly obliged me, and even offered to help out with the baking.  Bonding in the kitchen!

I did hesitate on offering to make the buns though; I was a little worried that I might be taking too much on.  But when I mentioned my doubt to my husband, he assured me that he would help (he really does make bread sometimes), and with his helpful help, we could gitter done.  So that’s partly his fault, though maybe I didn’t argue my dilemma well enough.  Anyway, I did make the first batch of buns today without his help, as he was busy taking the kids knee boarding at the lake.  I’m not sure what he is busy doing tomorrow.

So the problem might be the missing brain connection, or it might be the fact that once you know how to do it yourself, it seems so wasteful to not do it yourself;  and the homemade taste factor holds quite a bit of weight, too.  But I wonder if the day will come that I will be happy to write the check and let someone else do it all for me?  Somehow that doesn’t sound like me, but then, after all, how would I know with my missing brain connection?

Are there any other do-it-yourselfers out there that have a hard time not doing it yourself?

11 Responses to “The do-it-yourselfers dilemma”

  1. Mindi Says:

    I honestly laughed out loud. Especially about your comment at the end about not having the connection.

    I am completely the opposite. I’m like, “Why would I do that when I could just buy it?” I wish I wasn’t. But God made me like that, so you have to like me anyway. Okay, maybe you don’t. But you should. Maybe if I was as talented as you I would.

  2. Jan Says:

    You struck a chord here!!!
    hah, you know my family–I am like all the rest of ’em. Too bad, I married a husband who loves to DIY too : ) In fact that’s probably why I married him.

    I think I am finally learning to say no once in awhile, but it’s a slow learning curve…About the only thing I have not tried is cake decorating. As a youngster, I even tried to tune my parents’ piano! (with pliers) Needless to say, it didn’t work so well.

    • 33barefootlane Says:

      Oh Jan, that is too funny, tuning the piano. Now that takes a lot of confidence, my hat is off to you!

  3. teresa Says:

    I’m fortunate to be the one in my family that DID get that connection! Just last week my sis & I had a 50th anniversary party for our folks. I was SO glad when she agreed to hire a caterer. I found one – DONE! But my sister (with Mom’s help) made the table decorations (live potted petunias), created a slide show of 50+ years of photos, and baked 300 cupcakes and a little topper cake!
    My Mom made the wedding cake for my wedding. I kinda suggested it might be too much for her, but she really wanted to.
    So you are not alone in missing that connection! I think that spot if just filled with love instead!

    • 33barefootlane Says:

      Teresa, sounds like a wonderful anniversary! I love your comment about love filling the missing connection, it sounds much nicer than crazy, which I have been called. 🙂

  4. Ginny Says:

    I can identify – especially in relation to weddings! I made both of my daughters’ wedding dresses, the flower girl dresses, and one of the bridesmaid’s dresses. We also made cookies (sugar cookies in heart shapes) for welcome baskets for all of the out-of-town guests (and there were many). The parents of one of my sons-in-law made the wedding cake. I am so glad that I did all of that, and that we had a family-made wedding cake. You’ll be glad, too, and so will your son and daughter-in-law. I know those flowers will be beautiful!

    • 33barefootlane Says:

      Ginny,
      It is so nice to know that others share this dilemma (or drive or whatever you want to call it), and also to know that you were happy in the end that you made the effort. I don’t sew a stitch and am in awe that you made your girls wedding dresses, I bet they were gorgeous!

      I will share photos of it all after the wedding …

  5. Julie M. Says:

    Oh funny, mom. Great post. This is you to a ‘T’!

    A humorous note about my mom, when she says, “I had this idea…” we’ve learned that it always involves LOTS of work. Heehee. 🙂

    • 33barefootlane Says:

      Julie,
      Just wait, the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree …….. this might be you in a few years! Tee hee


  6. Hi, I’m Michael and I’m a DIYer.

    I have been trying to release my grasp on my DIY attitude. Today I finally put down my pride and signed a contract to have someone come finish our basement for us.

    I know I *could* do it, but I’m never really going to have time to do it well and I can’t stand doing a half baked job.

    *sigh* I have plenty of other projects and plans in the works, it’s not like I’m going to be bored.

    • 33barefootlane Says:

      Michael,

      Good for you for signing the dotted line! I smiled when I read that you have plenty of other projects and plans in the works – sounds familiar!


Leave a Reply

