Pulsatilla Vulgaris ~ Pasque Flower

May 4, 2010

I love Pasque flower for being such an early bird bloomer in my gardens.  The colorful star-shaped blooms are opening right with the daffodils, even before the tulips.

And while I love them for heralding in the Spring, I also enjoy them when they are done blooming; it is then that the fuzzy-wuzzy seed heads often find a place in my flower arrangements.  While the flower itself is often too short to use as a cut flower, the stem continues to grow taller as the seed head emerges, making it useful for cutting at that stage.  It is a very low maintenance perennial.

I initially planted both a purple and a red Pasque flower, and now have a violet Pasque flower that I am guessing is a seedling from a cross of the two.  I love surprises like that!

Growing information:

Hardiness – zone 4 – 8

Height – bloom height 8″-10″, seed head height 12″-15″

Bloom time – Early Spring

Light requirements – full sun to mostly sun

Formerly known as Anemone Pulsatilla.

4 Responses to “Pulsatilla Vulgaris ~ Pasque Flower”

  1. Gloria Bonde Says:

    I love the pasque flowers. They are our state flower here in SD. I grow a safe and healthy garden here in the Black Hills


  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Daisy Wilder. Daisy Wilder said: Pulsatilla Vulgaris ~ Pasque Flower « 33 Barefoot Lane: And while I love them for heralding in the Spring, I also … http://bit.ly/cI851E […]

  3. debsgarden Says:

    I like the seed head stage best! It reminds me a bit of my hair!

  4. miss m Says:

    Lovely ! Must introduced a few in the garden.


Leave a Reply

