If you love pesto ….

March 7, 2010

Try growing Lettuce Leaf Basil for an abundant harvest of enormous basil leaves to make your own pesto with.

I ordered my seeds from Pinetree Garden Seeds, but also found them in the Seeds of Change catalog.

Last summer I bought some of this flavorful basil at a local Farmers Market, and was convinced that I should add it to my list of  ‘New Vegetable Trials’ for this year.

Also on my ‘New vegetable Trial List’ for this year are:
Sugar Nut Melon
San Marzano paste tomato
Yugoslavian Red lettuce
Costoluto Genovese tomato
Carola potato
Marina Di Chioggia squash
Big Daddy pepper
Black Truffle tomato
Broccoli Romanseco Veronica

2 Responses to “If you love pesto ….”

  1. Meghan Says:

    Mmm, I’ve got some of that Yugoslavian Red lettuce planted for this year too – but none of the others. Thanks for the tip about the basil, I’ll definitely look into that! Dreaming of lots and lots of pesto this summer…

    • 33barefootlane Says:

      Meghan,
      I’d love to know if you have a favorite pesto recipe that you could recommend.
      Cheryl


Leave a Reply

