The Lady with the Alligator Purse

September 4, 2009

alligator purse

My sister found this purse at a Thrift store, and she was putting it in a garage sale at my daughter Julie’s.  As soon as my daughters saw it, they decided that Julie had to buy it, and take it with her to the endless doctor and hospital visits she does with Gregory.  I feel honored to be related to the REAL ‘Lady with the Alligator Purse’.

THE LADY WITH THE ALLIGATOR PURSE

I had a little baby, I named him Tiny Tim
I put him in the bath tub to see if he could swim.
He drank up all the water, he ate up all the soap
He tried to eat the bathtub but it wouldn’t go down his throat.

Then I called the doctor, then I called the nurse
Then I called the lady with the alligator purse.
In came the doctor, in came the nurse
In came the lady with the alligator purse.

“Measles” said the doctor, “Mumps” said the nurse,
“Nothing” said the lady with the alligator purse.
Out went the doctor, out went the nurse
Out went the lady with the alligator purse

This was one of the jump roping ditties that we chanted as kids.  Did you chant about the Lady with the Alligator Purse when you were a kid?  Was your version the same or different?

One Response to “The Lady with the Alligator Purse”

  1. Mindijo Says:

    Oh, I love that purse. I remember that little poem. Except I don’t remember if we sang it while jump-roping. Cute purse.


Leave a Reply

