Free Range Eggs Are Healthier

March 11, 2009

eggs

I recently read a report in Mother Earth News about the healthy benefits of  eggs produced by pastured poultry.  Recent nutritional testing of eggs from pastured hens gave some remarkable results.  Compared to the official USDA data for factory-farm eggs (raised conventionally), free range eggs contained:

1/3 less cholesterol

1/4 less saturated fat

2/3 more vitamin A

2 times more omega-3 fatty acids

3 times more vitamin E

7 times more beta carotene

Now that’s a pretty healthy egg!

To follow Mother Earth News ongoing pastured egg research, go to www.MotherEarthNews.com/eggs

6 Responses to “Free Range Eggs Are Healthier”

  1. Janel Says:

    I wish they would advertise all the benefts of free range eggs. So many people try to cut back on eggs, thinking they’re so bad for you! They just need to buy the right ones!

  2. Cheryl Says:

    Mindi,

    It is disappointing when that happens! I would try eggs from a different seller, if you find blood in the eggs they haven’t been candled (inspected). We get free range eggs from Dan & Becky’s Natural Food Market, and they are always good, I’ve never had to throw any out.
    Cheryl

  3. Mindijo Says:

    It’s not that I don’t believe you. I do. But when I bought those eggs, only four out of the twelve didn’t contain blood. It grossed me out to the max. Maybe I should try different ones.

  4. Cheryl Says:

    Sorry, I can’t take credit for the fun pic!

  5. Jule Says:

    Did you take that picture? It’s adorable. Thanks for posting that info, I was trying to find it one day to show my hubby.


Leave a Reply

