Winter reading

January 27, 2011

Winter is the time when I catch up on my reading and here are some of my favorites so far this season:

The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt by Edmund Morris

The first book in a trilogy that documents the life of Teddy Roosevelt.  Though it was 700 plus pages long, it was fascinating to read such an extensive documentary about Teddy.  This man was like a freight train going at high speed – in everything he did and everywhere he went.  No wonder his likeness is on Mount Rushmore; I can hardly wait to start the next book!

 

Fruitless Fall by Rowan Jacobsen

A very well documented book about the Colony Collapse Disorder that is affecting honeybees worldwide.  I would highly recommend this book to anyone considering beekeeping.

 

Five Quarters of the Orange by Joanne Harris

A very intriguing read that centers around food and secrets.  By the author of CHOCOLAT!

 

The Emperors of Chocolate by Joel Glenn Brenner

A fascinating read about the chocolate giants Hershey and Mars.  The stories of two empires built on chocolate, not to mention sweat and tears, by two different men with two different philosophies.  The revolution of chocolate  itself is amazing, likewise the lives of the two founders who revolutionized the world’s most magical and sought after substance, and made chocolate into a household product.

What has been your favorite read this winter?

3 Responses to “Winter reading”

  1. beth Says:

    Yes, you are so right! I loved Five Quarters of the Orange. I felt like I could smell and taste oranges the whole week it took me to read it. :)
    I had a similar reaction to The Secret Life of Bees. Enjoy the books!

    • 33barefootlane Says:

      Beth,
      Oh, I LOVED The Secret Life of Bees! One of my all time favorites! I just ordered Blackberry Wine by Joann Harris from the library, I hope it is as good as her other books.
      Cheryl

  2. teresa Says:

    I rarely read books, but listen to them on CD mostly. Currently trying to find time to finish ‘The Omnivore’s Dilema’ (Michael Pollan). Everyone who eats should read / hear it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

